Monday, 17 December 2018

Dead Good newsletter

With ideas for your TBR piles, here are the latest Dead Good newsletters:


The looks. The brains. The money. The motive?
 ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ 



Dead Good Deals





This week's deal


Dear Daughter
Elizabeth Little
£4.99 99p
Ten years ago, LA ‘it’ girl Janie Jenkins was convicted of murdering her own mother. Recently released from prison, she's determined to unravel the mystery of her mother's death. But with the media convinced she’s guilty – and Janie herself not entirely convinced she’s innocent – she has to do everything she can to throw her pursuers off the scent. She really didn't like her mother. Could she have killed her?
 

AVAILABLE FROM THESE RETAILERS


#
#
#
#


Offer available until 11.12.2018
This offer is only available to UK customers



WHY WE LOVE IT


Told from the point of view of a manipulative socialite, this sharp, page-turning murder mystery is perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl and those who love an unreliable narrator. With plenty of surprises and snapshots from Janie's dark past, this is a gritty slow-burner full of characters you will love to hate!






"I was so excited for this one and it absolutely lived up to my expectations and then some." 


Liz, Amazon reviewer



BOOKS YOU'LL LOVE



#
£9.99 99p

#
£9.99 99p

#
£9.99 99p



ON DEAD GOOD THIS WEEK



#
Steve Charnock rounds up seven top Netflix shows for fans of Wallander

#
Lesley Kara tells us how a rumour in her neighbourhood inspired her debut novel



Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

© 2018 Penguin Random House
Registered Number: 861590 England
Registered Office: 80 Strand, London WC2R 0RL



Win a murder mystery break worth over £200 and a bundle of books!
 ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ 


Dead Good Books
The home of killer crime books, drama and film.







How well do you know fiction's best detectives?




Christmas is a time for donning our dressing gowns, playing board games and cosying up with some chilling reads and cracking telly. But with Sherlock Christmas specials now a thing of the past, the festive season is missing our usual crime fix.

Not to worry – to help satisfy your little grey cells we’re here to test how well you know fiction’s best detectives. Armed with a string of clues, guess who's who in our game of detection to be in with a chance of winning a bundle of books and a murder mystery break for two worth over £200, courtesy of Buyagift!

Simply match the detective to their description to win...



#
The consulting detective
When this eccentric detective is not working on an unusual case, you can find him at home playing the violin at the expense of his poor landlady. His extraordinary powers of observation are crucial when it comes to solving crime. With his long grey travelling-cloak and cloth cap, this sleuth is hard to miss.

#
The rule breaker
After completing a Law degree, this loose cannon became a police officer with Oslo Crime Squad. He often finds himself at odds with others within the force due to his heavy drinking and unorthodox methods. Don’t be disheartened, this brilliant detective will do whatever it takes to crack a case.



#
The authentic anthropologist
This American-born forensic pathologist specialises in troublesome human remains. Her job often takes her on the road, but she's rarely without her cat, Birdie. As a divorced, recovering alcoholic, she keeps busy dividing her time between teaching at a university and advising on crime scenes.

#
The fearless fighter
Running the Major Incident Team at Southampton Central Police Station, this DI has a hefty caseload. Fearless and determined, she travels everywhere on a motorbike and has been seriously injured on more than one occasion. This troubled detective chooses pain as a way of keeping her demons at bay.



#
The lone ranger
Taking odd jobs around the country, this lone ranger enjoys life on the road. Preferring to travel light, he carries few possessions other than a folding toothbrush – a must, given the amount of coffee he drinks. A former major in the United States Military Police Corps, he is also a dab hand at skilled combat.

#
The patient Parisian
This streetwise police commissioner goes nowhere without his bowler hat and a pipe firmly clamped between his teeth. Rather than attending the crime scene himself, this detective prefers to grab a plate of pintadeau en croute in a nearby bistro and observe from afar.



THINK YOU KNOW WHO'S WHO?






Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

© 2018 Penguin Random House
Registered Number: 861590 England
Registered Office: 80 Strand, London WC2R 0RL

Meet Cal McGill – a truly unique detective.
 ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ 



Dead Good Deals





This week's deal


The Malice of Waves
Mark Douglas-Home
£4.99 99p
Five years ago, fourteen-year-old Max disappeared from Priest's Island. Unable to shed any light on what happened, the police presume Max is dead. But there’s one man who is yet to take on the case: the Sea Detective. Oceanographer Cal McGill uses his knowledge of tides, winds and currents to solve mysteries no one else can. Can he navigate the tensions between Max's inconsolable father, the broken family he has neglected and the resentful locals and find out what really happened to Max?

AVAILABLE FROM THESE RETAILERS


#
#
#
#


Offer available until 04.12.2018
This offer is only available to UK customers



WHY WE LOVE IT


The beautiful landscape and harsh climate of the Outer Hebrides play a large role in building the tension in this atmospheric and compelling thriller. As a gripping small-town mystery, this book brilliantly casts doubt on how much each character truly knows about Max's disappearance. With an oceanographer who specialises in tracking bodies lost at sea at the heart of the story, The Malice of Waves is an entirely unique read.






"This story is utter brilliance. The book was a dream to read, this is a true author with an eye for a mystery." 


Jan, Amazon reviewer



BOOKS YOU'LL LOVE








ON DEAD GOOD THIS WEEK



#
Lee Child talks all things Past Tense and future plans for Jack Reacher

#
Steve Charnock picks six Netflix shows perfect for fans of BBC One's Luther



Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

© 2018 Penguin Random House
Registered Number: 861590 England
Registered Office: 80 Strand, London WC2R 0RL



From the winner of the Daily Mail first crime novel competition comes an enthralling thriller...
 ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ 



Dead Good Deals





This week's deal


My Name is Anna
Lizzy Barber
£4.99 99p
My Name is Anna follows two women desperate to unlock the truth. There’s Anna, who defies her mother’s rules on her birthday and visits Florida’s biggest theme park. She’s never been allowed to go – so why does it seem so familiar? Then there’s Rosie, who’s grown up in the shadow of a missing sister, her family fractured by years of searching. Fifteen years on, Rosie vows to discover what happened. Will she find the answer before it tears her family apart?
 

AVAILABLE FROM THESE RETAILERS


#
#
#
#


Offer available until 27.11.2018
This offer is only available to UK customers



WHY WE LOVE IT


Winner of the Daily Mail first crime novel competition, this is a dark and gripping debut full of twists and turns that will linger long after you finish the final page. Exploring the pain of losing a child and the devastating effects of a mother pushed to the edge of reason, this page turner of a thriller perfectly highlights the complex nature of family relationships.  






"This is a brilliant page-turner. I was unable to put it down and would recommend as a great psychological read." 


Amazon reviewer



BOOKS YOU'LL LOVE








ON DEAD GOOD THIS WEEK



#
Read the first chapter from Abir Mukherjee's brilliant historical mystery

#
Lisa Gabriele discusses how du Maurier's Rebecca influenced her new novel



Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

© 2018 Penguin Random House
Registered Number: 861590 England
Registered Office: 80 Strand, London WC2R 0RL





Dead Good Deals





This week's deal


The Missing Pieces of Sophie McCarthy
B M Carroll
£4.99 99p
When two strangers, Sophie and Aidan, are brought together by a devastating accident, Sophie's life is left in ruins. Her family wants to see Aidan pay for what he did. Aidan is prepared to sacrifice everything – including his marriage and his child – to fix the mess he's made. But some things can't be fixed, and Sophie is not at all what she first appeared. She may be the victim – but is she so innocent?

AVAILABLE FROM THESE RETAILERS


#
#
#
#


Offer available until 20.11.2018
This offer is only available to UK customers



WHY WE LOVE IT


Trauma and revenge lie at the heart of this story that shows how one mistake can unravel many lives. Gripping and clever, this compelling psychological suspense novel blurs the line between victim and perpetrator. The Missing Pieces of Sophie McCarthy is perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Fiona Neill. 






"This is a wonderful book. A book that you don't want to end but at the same time are anxious for the outcome. " 


Amazon reviewer



BOOKS YOU'LL LOVE








ON DEAD GOOD THIS WEEK



#
Gillian McAllister explains how justice and the law inform her writing

#
Steve Charnock reviews the new Lynda la Plante adaptation Widows



Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

© 2018 Penguin Random House
Registered Number: 861590 England
Registered Office: 80 Strand, London WC2R 0RL




No comments:

Post a comment