Sunday, 25 June 2017

Retreat West First Chapter & Green Themed flash fiction competition, deadline today


The Retreat West 'green' themed flash fiction and Retreat West first chapter competition deadline is today

Don't miss the 1st Chapter comp deadline or the final room at the Plotting Retreat!
 
 
Hello , deadline day is here and you now have only hours left to enter the GREEN-themed flash fiction competition! Top prize is £100 and two runners-up get £50 and all three stories are published on the website. You can read previous winning stories here.

It's also the deadline to apply for the mentoring programme and get me helping you to develop your novel or short stories for 6 months. There's a £10 application fee but if you're not selected, as sadly I can only mentor 2 people at a time, then you get free entry to the next themed flash competition to say thanks for applying. You can apply here.

Happy writing,
Amanda x

PS. Get in touch if you have new book coming out or project coming up that you'd like to feature in a guest blog.
 
 
Copyright © 2017 Retreat West, All rights reserved.
           

Our mailing address is:
Retreat West
Apt 3735 Chynoweth House
Trevissome Park
Truro, Devon TR4 8UN
United Kingdom

           




Mirfield Arts, West Yorkshire Playhouse, Yorkshire Sculpture Park and Huddersfield Literature Festival Summer events

Looking for some events for Summer, Huddersfield Literature Festival, Mirfield Arts Festival, West Yorkshire Playhouse and the Yorkshire Sculpture Park have you covered:


Something for everyone - Families, Trekkies, Poets & Book-lovers
       
 

Want to do something different this summer?
Check out these events...

 
 

Yorkshire Sculpture Park 
Harron Mirza in Conversation

 

 
 
 
 

A West Yorkshire Playhouse
Ode to Leeds 


By Zodwa Nyoni 10 June - 1 July

 
Ode to Leeds is a powerful new play by Zodwa Nyoni, inspired by the city’s renowned spoken word poetry group, Leeds Young Authors

Fuelled by love, pride and passion, five young poets from Leeds are selected to compete at the world’s most prestigious international poetry slam competition in New York City. As the competition draws closer, the poets are forced to discover not just their voices, but what they must find the courage to say.
 
 
Watch the Ode to Leeds Trailer
Ode To Leeds Trailer
 
 
Mirfield Arts Festival 

14 July - 16 July 2017

 
This year's theme is ‘Mirfield takes Flight’ and will include anything that flies - Birds, space ships, super heroes, butterflies, moths, flights of imagination & weekend of Star Trek events.

The highlight of the Festival will be the Callaloo Arts Carnival Parade leaving the library at 2pm and arrive at St Pauls at 3pm – not to be missed!
 
The Festival will also be celebrating Star Trek & Sir Patrick Stewart O.B.E. as our ‘Home Town Boy’ with 3 days of Star Trek events.

Friday 14 July: showing of ‘The First Contact’ film
Saturday 15 July:  Star Trek Family Day with activities and meet Trekyards – international Star Trek You Tube hosts                                      
Sunday 16 July: Festival events in the garden, and Talks for Trekkies – discussions about Star Ship design
 
 
 

Launch of Calling Major Tom 
 David M. Barnett


8 July 2017
4.30-6.30pm

 
 
Waterstones Wigan are excited to be hosting the launch of David M. Barnett's new novel Calling Major Tom.

Celebrate the publication of a gorgeous, laugh-out-loud story of friendship, family and forgiveness. The perfect read for fans of A Man Called Ove, A Boy Made of Blocks and The Rosie Project.

Book a place and reserve a copy of Calling Major Tom:
via Facebook, call 01942 497095, or email wigan@waterstones.com.
 
 
That's all for now. Keep your eyes open for more info on HLF 2018, coming soon...
 
 
Copyright © 2017 Huddersfield Literature Festival, All rights reserved.
       

Our mailing address is:
Huddersfield Literature Festival
29 Dartmouth Ave
Huddersfield, HD5 8UP
United Kingdom