Tuesday, 19 December 2017

Northern Writers Awards 2018, deadline 1 February 2018

The New Writing North Northern Writers' Awards are now open:

The latest news from New Writing North
The Northern Writers’ Awards are now open for entry with £40,000 of support for new writing from the North of England
Writers from across the North of England are invited to submit their work in progress to the Northern Writers’ Awards 2018, which are now open for entry until Thursday 1 February 2018.
The poet Imtiaz Dharker, literary agent Jonathan Ruppin, and authors Kerry Hudson and Lisa Williamson will judge the 2018 awards.
The Northern Writers’ Awards have been running since 2000 and exist to recognise talent and support new work towards publication or broadcast. The awards are the largest of their kind in the UK and have a reputation for identifying some of the best unpublished writing in the country, with recent winners including the novelists Chloe Daykin, Sarah Dunnakey and Benjamin Myers, short story writer Carys Davies, and poets Zaffar Kunial, Andrew McMillan and Kim Moore.
There are awards for writers at different stages of their careers, including mentoring, developmental support and cash awards to buy time to write.
New awards for 2018 include the Northern Book Prize, worth £5000, is a major new prize for writers in the North of England, which will see its winner’s book-length work of literary fiction published by the much-acclaimed, Sheffield-based independent publisher And Other Stories.
Another new award, the Word Factory Apprentice Award, will award one outstanding short story writer from the North of England a £1000 bursary, mentoring from the writer Jenn Ashworth; and a year’s free access to all Word Factory events and masterclasses.
In addition to individual awards, New Writing North supports its winners with ongoing tailored support. In 2018 selected winners will be offered additional opportunities including the chance to pitch work to literary agents and editors at the Summer Talent Salon in London; membership of The Society of Authors; and a professional development session with the leading independent publisher, Oneworld Publications.

No comments:

Post a Comment