Thursday, 5 February 2015

Little Shop of Horrors production review

Went to see the Whitcliffe Mount School production of Little Shop of Horrors (starring my son Lucas as Bernstein) with my family last night and what a fabulous and entertaining production it was.

Leads Cameron Harris (Seymour Krelborn) and Bethany Grange (Audrey) were exceptional actors, with brilliant comic timing and beautiful voices and newcomer Joey Wilby (Mr Mushnik and voice of the plant, Audrey II) was a lovely actor with great comic timing, but Audrey II needed better pronunciation as it was quite hard at times to make out what it was singing/saying.  The sass squad, Jaynie Holt (Crystal), Eliza Duckworth (Chiffon), Emily Hardcastle (Ronnette), Saff Shaw (Shaniqua) and Ella Naylor (Chantelle) had stunning voices and great dancing timing.  I particularly enjoyed the evil dentist, a fabulously menacing and deep-voiced Samuel Shingleton, and his frightened patient Stanley Lawson, smarmy yet funny Bernstein (Lucas Naylor) and the many touching and hilarious musical numbers, including Somewhere That's Green, Dentist!, Suddenly Seymour and The Meek Shall Inherit.  The song and dance numbers were very catchy and I can confidently say, there are some stars in the making in this lovely little show.
Production Team: Director - Mr S Mackay, Musical Director - Mrs C Keates, Production Manager & Lighting - Miss L Glaholm, Choreography - Josie Clough, Wardrobe, Props and Make-Up - WMS students, Backstage Manager - Tom Peach and Backstage Crew - Kieran Dawson, Jackson Waite, Bobby Gilman, Luke Manning, Skye Rangeley, Emilia Finney, Brandon Taylor, Frankie Lawson, Callum Hetherington, WAW Productions, Sound - Tom Brancker, Set - Scenic Projects, Props - Miss L Abbott, Costumes - Frances Dolan and Costume Co-ordinator - Miss A Branson
Band: Conductor - Mrs C Keates, Piano/Keys - Mrs K Ogilvie and Drums - Harvey Brown
Cast: Ben Shorten, Luke Gorman, Tobias Brown, Helena Butterworth, Gabrielle Munslow, Thomas Scholey, Aaliya Azam, Ellie Hodgson, Hannah Hirst, Maddy Bower, Daisy Wilson, Annabel Hogg, Lily Young, Emma Richardson, Jade Kelly, Adrianna Cholyst, Millie Leadbeater, Monica Margetts, Grace Gentry, Lauren Taylor, Phoebe Sutcliffe, Temeka Margetts, Jonathan Watson, Freya Mitchell, Abygail Law, Abigail Harrison, Erin Dunn, Hannah Hirst, Emily Moran, Gabrielle Brown and Katie Peel.
The show runs until 6 February 2015 and with tickets, at an affordable £6 or under, still available for matinee and evening performances, get yours now - you won't regret it.
Whitcliffe Mount School, Turnsteads Avenue, Cleckheaton, BD19 3AQ
01274 851152

No comments:

Post a Comment