Sunday, 20 July 2014

East Anglian Book Awards, noon on 24 July 2014 deadline

Have had such a brilliant time at the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Festival this weekend and am already looking forward to next years.  Fantastic evening at the Quiz last night where we were joined by crime writing legend John Harvey and then today there was a fabulous event today where he was interviewed by Mark Billingham, I will post reviews of all the events starting from next week.

If you have a published book and you live in East Anglia, or your published book is set mostly in this area, then this competition could be for you:

The East Anglian Book Awards opens for entries- top prize £1000. 

Do you represent an author living in East Anglia, or a writer whose book is set in the region?
Enter their book into the East Anglian Book Awards.


Now in its seventh year, the East Anglian Book Awards celebrates the best in regional writing talent, offering the shortlisted authors extensive press coverage and publicity through local bookshops. The winning author will receive a  £1000 top prize, sponsored by the PACCAR Foundation.  For the first time, there is also a £100 prize, courtesy of East Anglian Writers, for the best designed book jacket. Judges include bestselling novelist Sophie Hannah and award-winning poet George Szirtes.

Authors and publishers are invited to submit by noon on the 24th July.

The 2013 East Anglian Book Awards winner was Masterpieces: Art and East Anglia, edited by Ian Collins. Previous winners include Mick Jackson (2010) with his novel The Widow’s Tale, Diana Souhami (2011) with her biography and memoir of Edith Cavell, and Candy Whittome (2012) with The Last Hunters, a poignant portrayal of Cromer’s crab fishermen.

The East Anglian Book Awards are presented by the EDP, Jarrold and Writers’ Centre Norwich with the support of the University of East Anglia. The awards celebrate the best new writing from Norfolk, Suffolk and Fenland. The £1000 goes to the East Anglian Book of the Year, which will be selected from the winning category titles.
The Categories & Judges:
Fiction - Sophie Hannah
Poetry - George Szirtes
History & Tradition - Trevor Heaton

General Non-Fiction - Judge TBC
Children's Books - Joyce Dunbar
Biography & Memoir - Diane Souhami
To Qualify:
Works have to be set largely in East Anglia or be written by an author living in the region, which for the awards’ purposes is defined as the counties of Norfolk and Suffolk, and the area of Fenland District Council.

Books must have been published for the first time between August 1, 2013 and July 31, 2014 and been commercially available.
To Enter:
To enter, simply submit two physical copies of your nominated book, plus a covering letter which includes details of which category you would like it to be entered for.

Send your entries to Trevor Heaton, EDP, Prospect House, Rouen Road, Norwich NR1 1RE. Any entry queries should be addressed to him at with ‘EABA’ in the subject line.

Entries must arrive by noon, July 24th. Please note we cannot return entries.

The judges will consider all titles before drawing up their shortlist for each category. This shortlist will be published in the Eastern Daily PressEvening News, and online. Shortlisted authors will be informed. The winners will be revealed in November at this year’s East Anglian Book Awards evening, which will feature a reading from a high-profile author, the awards ceremony and a meal. Shortlisted authors should be prepared to travel to Norwich for this event.

No comments:

Post a Comment