Tuesday, 5 July 2016

Northern Writers' Awards 2016 winners

New Writing North have announced the winners of the Northern Writer's Awards 2016, details in the newsletter below:

      July 2016
Announcing the winners of the Northern Writers’ Awards 2016
The winners of the Northern Writers' Awards 2016
We are delighted to announce the winners of the Northern Writers’ Awards 2016.
The 30 winners were announced at a ceremony in Newcastle last night. 2016 was our biggest year so far for the awards, with over 1000 entries, so competition was incredibly fierce.
As always, we found an real wealth of writing talent in the North of England, and discovered many exciting writers that we hadn’t come across before. We look forward to working with all of our winners over the next year and beyond to help them achieve their creative ambitions.
For now, we hope you’ll join us in congratulating the class of 2016!
Northern Writers’ Awards
AB Jackson (Sheffield) Amy McCauley (Manchester)
Mark Pajak (Didsbury)
Yvonne Reddick (Preston)
Shash Trevett (York)
Carolyn Jess-Cooke (Whitley Bay) Melissa Lee-Houghton (Blackburn)
Benjamin Webster (Otley)
Clare Weze (Burton in Lonsdale)
Children’s fiction
Stacey Sampson (Sheffield) Jessica Smith (Consett)
Waterhouse Award
Seán Hewitt (Warrington)
Arvon Award
Juliana Mensah (Gateshead)
Clare Swift Short Story Award
Deborah Buchan (Newcastle)
Northumbria University Student and Alumni Award
John Schoneboom (Newcastle)
New Fiction Bursaries
Vik Banks (Leeds) Libby Carpenter (Preston)
Nicholas Graham (St Bees)
Andy Hickmott (Manchester)
Beda Higgins (Newcastle)
Andrea Badenoch Fiction Award
Lucy Nevitt (East Riding)
Channel 4/ Northumbria University Writing for Television Awards – serial drama
Drew Hubbard (Gatley) Jayshree Patel (Manchester)
Channel 4/ Northumbria University Writing for Television Awards –
children’s drama
Elizabeth Lomas (Manchester)
Cuckoo Young Writers Award
Kate Collins: winner (Wirral) Jennifer Szandrowska: highly commended (Sunderland)
Isabella Sharp: highly commended (York)
Conor Robinson Award
Catherine Maw (Sunderland)
Matthew Hale Award
Amy Langdown (Cramlington) Shana Nichols (Cramlington)
Share this newsletter FacebookTwitterMore...View New Writing North’s newsletter archive
© New Writing North 2016

No comments:

Post a Comment